New moped law and stricter penalties for golf cart misuse go into effect on Nov. 19
Staff Report, Moultrie News
Due to a change in law effective Nov. 19, customers who currently own or purchase mopeds will be required to register their mopeds. On Nov. 1, the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (S.C. DMV) started issuing moped plates and registration. The S.C. DMV has created a new procedure, new form, and Phoenix has been updated to process moped transactions. The moped plate will be issued “On-Demand” (by mail) and will include a registration card and decal. The cost for a moped plate is $10 every two years. Plate Class: MP. The Form 400-M is to be used when a customer needs to title and/or register their moped.
According to the new law going into effect, a moped operated on a public highway must be registered and licensed with the department in the same fashion as passenger vehicles pursuant to this title.
- The department shall establish for mopeds a special size and class of license plates with distinctive numbering and/or lettering so as to be identifiable to law enforcement.
- Mopeds are NOT required to be titled or insured in this state.
- Mopeds are exempt from ad valorem (estimated value) property taxes in this state.
In addition to the new moped law, another new law will go into effect on Nov. 19 as well that will make it easier for officers to cite irresponsible golf cart drivers.
The new law is said to make it easier for law enforcement to ticket violators, according to the Mount Pleasant Police Department. The law will make violation of golf cart rules a misdemeanor punishable with a maximum fine of $100 or 30 days in jail. Serious violations could also be ruled as a felony.
The drive a golf cart in South Carolina, you must:
- Have the golf cart registered with the S.C. DMV
- Have proof of liability insurance
- Be at least 16 years old
- Have a valid driver’s license
- Display a state permit decal
- Only drive during daylight hours
- Drive within 4 miles of the address on the regirstration certificate
- Do not drive on a bike path
- Drive on roadways with a speed limit of 35 mph or less